As one proceeds about two kilometers on the main road towards Ponda, a kuchcha road branches off towards north at a place where a cross is fixed. The road leads to a hill on which, commanding a picturesque view, is the Chapel of Our Lady of the Mount. A series of steps leads to the Chapel, which is built of laterite, plastered with lime-mortar. It has three main altars dedicated respectively to Our Lady of the Mount, St. Anthony and St. Andrew.
The chapel was built under the orders of Afonso de Albuquerque in 1510 and is referred to as in existence in 1519. It was reconstructed twice.
Content sourced from asigoacircle.gov.in